Four weeks and a year

Today is the four week anniversary of my mother’s death and the one year anniversary of Dave’s dad’s death. Finn asked me a lot of questions about death on the drive home tonight. He said he is afraid of dying because he doesn’t want to be burned up (cremated like my mom). He asked if I would just bury him when he dies (like Dave’s dad). It is hard to explain (and to understand) that you won’t know the difference when you’re dead. He had some questions about heaven. I did the “some people believe . . . .” thing. I asked him what he knows about heaven. He said that he thinks it is in the ground but doesn’t know anything else about it.

Sometimes I wish I could just say that grandma is an angel in the sky watching over us and we will see her again someday. But I can’t.

Leave a Reply

